Mjudrah

(Also spelt Mjudra, and Mujaddara, Mejadra or Mudardara, apparently – I pronounce it mm-judd-ruh, but am no authority.)

This is a staple from my Kirketon Road, Darlinghurst/Sydney days – a delicious, nutritious and filling Lebanese dish. As a traditional peasant food, there are endless variations of this dish (village to village, plus Skip modifications), but this is the one I learnt. This humble dish is cheap to make, so is very handy when one is paid monthly, in any currency. A large batch (and it’s super-easy to make a double batch) both reheats nicely and can be made from agreements you should always have on hand.

M’judrah

Ingredients (makes 4 serves)

  • 1 large onion, finely diced
  • 1 Tbsp (to a generous glug) EV olive oil
  • ½ cup brown rice
  • 1 cup brown lentils
  • About 1L hot water (enough to cover the lentils by about 20mm)
  • 1-2 good quality stock cubes (feel free to post me some Massel Ultracubes, Aussies)

Method

  1. Saute chopped onions in olive oil until very soft.
  2. Wash lentils and rice (I don’t really do this, but a lot recipes online feature it.)
  3. Add both lentils and rice to onions and sauté a few minutes more, stirring well to coat with onion juices and oil.
  4. Add hot water, stock cube and some salt to taste.
  5. Cover, bring to a boil and simmer for at least 25-30 minutes, to taste – some people cook it much longer to make it like a thick porridge. Add water if necessary to prevent things from drying out, but no more.
  6. Can be served hot or cold – I like to eat with plain yogurt on top.

Notes

  • This dish has relatives – the Indian Khichdi and the Welsh/British Kedgeree. This is one of the many gems I’ve learned at my weekly Marylebone Farmer’s Market outing with Andrea and Elizabeth – have my eye on some smoked haddock next Sunday, so watch this space for a Kedgeree attempt.
  • I did lots of research into other people’s recipes online here, even though this is a meal I just make from memory – it is worth mentioning this page, Memories of a Lebanese Garden, which was one of the most beautiful I found.
  • Two very common variations: use of caramalised onions as a topping, and cooking with wheat or other grains instead of rice.
  • Will post the green bean salad I usually serve with this dish here shortly.
  • This image of Mjudrah above is actually from here – will take my own sometime, but wanted to show that this dish is very mushy looking.
